Musical Dare

Guess what?! I’m learning a French song! Yeah, I’m all that and then some. Forget that I had to rewrite the lyrics so that they read as they sound in my ear, since I’ve never sat in French class (unless you’re counting eavesdropping on Betty’s audio classes of Coffee Break French with Mark the Frenchman). I studied German for a year. Which is not necessary to mention so let’s move on…

And that’s not all. It’s a song sang by Celine Dion and (wait for it) Il Divo. Could you die? For those of you who are into funky classical music – where they fuse it with pop or alter the old Gregorian chants – then you must know the likes of Andrea Bocelli. Luciano Pavarotti and Il Divo. I recently made friends with a guy who loves Il Divo more than I do. His name is Jose and the best part is that he can sing like Carlos! Could you imagine that! Which brings us back to how I started singing (or, in my opinion, attempting to sing) with the him and Bodo on occasion. It’s a bit like a jam session, but these have made up some of my best spent hours in the two and a half months that I have been out of work.

Now that Jose got me to learn “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina” (and all the old school folks can applaud now), then made me sing “Con Te Partiro” (a.k.a. Time To Say Goodbye by Andrea Bocelli and Sarah Brightman) in public with little to no prior preparation, he has me learning the French verses of the Il Divo collaboration with Celine Dion. If I haven’t said this before, Celine Dion and Whitney Houston were the women who got me thinking seriously about growing up so I could sing like they did; and this was between the ages of five and twelve.

As the month draws to a close, I cannot wait to see what October has in store for me.

One fact is obvious, though. More than my growing admiration for Joss Stone (introduced to me by Bodo after much whining along the lines of “How do you not know her? She’s awesome!”), I look forward to hanging with the boys over whatever we can find to eat at the time and whichever new music I’ll be getting introduced to.

P.S. You want to listen to Asa’s album: Beautiful Imperfection. And Bibanke featuring Ife Love; this one is for the sisters.

2 thoughts on “Musical Dare

Leave a Reply

