New Beginnings

Good morning world!

I am in a jolly good mood today and it has everything with attempting to creep out of my comfort zone. A few years back, I would have cringed at the idea of joining a commercial venture and initiating a project which is yet to be engaged, but here I am as the new marketer and center manager for a new company and I more excited than I am frightened; which, by the way, it complete;y out of character. I am often more stressed out and uptight about things I want to change or get out of my way and I can be as stubborn as that blob of chewing gum stuck to the sole of your shoe on a hot August afternoon.
 But the fact is that this is not August. We are almost halfway into October and the future seems ripe for plucking – with both hands – if you are willing to get out character once in a while. Who knows? I just might l;earn how to swim this year! Well, maybe not, but a girl can dream.

Top on my priority list, other than saving for my masters in public health, is to sign up for life membership at the Red Cross Society of Kenya. It is long overdue. Then I will need to revamp my wardrobe – inside and out – and resist the urge to stock up with just sneakers and walking shoes. Plus, I need a dress for my brother-in-law’s wedding in December! That leaves a funny taste in my mouth, but I need to grow a few more nerves for my fashion sense; or lack thereof. Any ideas in this end are welcome. I am greener than the State House lawn when it comes to dressing.

So off I go to compile reports and start collecting information for new databases. I plan to set the standard as high as the tower of Babel and my one intention is to leave a mark etched so deep that they will name this building and the street downstairs after me. Or maybe just the floor.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

P.S. The boyfriend called just so he’d hear my voice before turning in (he was working the night shift). Aren’t they sometimes the most adorable things?!

Leave a Reply

