The Week ENDS!

Image

Hey World!

The past week has been one of the most emotionally exhausting periods of my year. I had a rather dramatic falling out with a friend of many years, fell out with a second one and decided not to talk to him, started getting back on track with the first one, and started crashing again from exhaustion and missing the boyfriend who now has classes all day – so that we don’t Skype as often or for as long as we have for about 8 months now. But the sweetheart has been calling me between class breaks and sending sweet messages during boring classes “just to check up on me”. Yeah, he’s a keeper for sure.

On the sunny side, I am starting to see the fruits of my labour at the office – with two clients signing up for virtual office packages and promises of more business in the near future, including within the month. Mother dearest and I are on great terms and I am staying at her place with my brother (except last night when I needed to go back to my place because it feels like a little camp of refuge of late) and I have another sleepover weekend coming up starting tonight!

Have you ever imagined what it would be like to be diagnosed with Cancer? Well, I almost have. I had quite a scare when I was 21 after a regular screen showed a lump in my left breast. I only got to learn that it was a benign growth known as a fibroadenoma, found in 1 out of every 10 black women (I read). It will only likely cause me problems when I am breastfeeding and will only more likely become hostile if I use hormone based treatments including certain forms of birth control (I have also read). But I read an article that caught my eye weeks ago about getting cancer at 25 and I thought to share it with you. Why? I have been thinking a lot about grief and the book Surviving the Loss of a Loved One. The former because a few friends have been recently bereaved and the latter because that book helped me deal with my own Grandpa’s passing and knowing what to say and do and what to refrain from saying or doing when dealing with a grieving person. This post covers some of that and I know it will come in handy for someone. Also, Vanessa, the brave young woman who shares her story with us, has a cool project where she sells survival organs. You want to have a look and contribute to this great cause.

I am also down with cramps and this is the only chance I give myself to relax as a first priority. Which is why I am getting off work early to go home and chill out on this chilly Friday afternoon. Well, right after my office is fumigated to get rid of all the ants looking for a new home in my sugar bowl!!!

TGIF! Have a relaxed weekend, guys!

Leave a Reply

