The Shortlist

The first time I submitted a story on a competitive front was to the Commonwealth. That was probably 2 years ago. I did not even make it to the shortlist. When I read the winning story, I was even more upset. I put aside any attempts at competing in that regard. I figured I needed to tell more ordinary stories, read more familiar books, express myself a little less awkwardly.

Fast forward to the first week of June this year. I sent a story to another panel and received an email starting with “Congratulations!”

In short, I made the shortlist. My favourite for the best story is Ngartia’s Redemption at Room 7. I think the story is beautifully told, minus the many annoying cliches which often hamper the breath-taking delivery of a good story, there is a great flow, vivid description and a poignancy whose effect is lasting. In all honestly, I would be thrilled to have my own story, Visitation, winning this round, but I also know how to be objective enough to accept worthy competition.

What do you think?

P.S. Here’s the link to the Lunatic Express Shortlist.

Cheers y’all!

2 thoughts on “The Shortlist

  1. No wonder you were shortlisted! Great story. I was waiting for part two! Its such a pity that the people,we care about the most hurt us the most.

Leave a Reply

