TOUCH ME

I am yet to come across a work as noble and open and honest as this one is in the appreciation of the struggles women go through when an ailment causes them to lose a part of themselves.
Do take the time to share and reflect on the persona’s experience; she represents someone’s true story.

Outside my mind

Touch me here, See me now,

I am still a woman, When you touch me here…

Some answers are more terrifying than questions,

I never asked but am now in receipt of an answer,

I wince when I raise my hands,

Like my grandmother before her and my mother before me,

I empty the bags of fluid when no one is home,

I wear loose clothes, careful not to tangle the tubes…

Touch me here, See me now,

I am still a woman, When you touch me here…

I wake in a night sweat, waiting on the hot flash to leave me,

In the dark, absent mindedly,

I touch them, where they used to be,

I do not remember the soft mounds of flesh that jiggled there,

But joyful pain of my daughter’s embrace,

On the day I came back home.

Touch me here, See me now,

I am still…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

