Long Weekend

Ola people!

I have had a rather dull week. I guess coming back to work to find things having ground to a near halt can be frustrating, but you never really feel ready for it, do you? I mean, you do know that things are going to be slow for a time, but then you start to worry when you find that you’ve replied to all the emails, made follow-up calls, scheduled viewings, rescheduled viewings, gone out on errands, gone into the field – all this yet the crickets are still louder than ever. Rather unsettling.

Then there’s the part where my weight is bugging the heck out of me. Worse still, I have only run twice this week and I can’t help but think I need to up the miles if I’m to find any peace about my tummy. It just sits there, round and bulging, pressing against my waistband and often forcing me to change my posture (read: slouch in my chair) and unzip my pants after a meal.

The yoga helps with my back and warming up before running, but I also look forward to running around a little more during the day and to working out for a little longer starting Sunday morning. So help me God!

I really want to have a memorable weekend these next few days, especially because Monday is a holiday. In an ideal setting that would mean skipping town for the night or hosting a sleepover yet here I am planning to spend the weekend running, cooking and watching Glee when I’m not watching Elementary.

I’m feeling all read out because I can’t seem to make any progress with Beneath the Lion’s Gaze (an incredible book, and that’s just 17 pages this week), but I will move at my mind’s pace. I have been reading a whole lot these past few months so maybe I need some more outdoor time. Or time to work on my drafts. Or both.

Whatever happens happens. Irrespective of the threat of rain, I am headed to the Michael Joseph Centre to watch performances prepared to honour Breast Cancer survivors.

Have you gone for screening? When was the last time you went for a breast exam? What of a pap smear. It’s important.

Cheers y’all!

Leave a Reply

