I had the Monday Blues today…

InstagramCapture_c9b9be87-c8a1-41ad-baa0-20f48e0028a1[1]

I cannot believe how irritable I can get sometimes! I’m not good with spending; pulling out money to buy honey cornflakes which I know will come in handy when I can’t step out for lunch can set me off. And I think that’s what happened earlier this afternoon. I decided to put up a status update on Facebook indicating that I am pissed off because I need to get over myself before locking the office door and taking a few minutes to soak in Sam Smith. Then I got a call.

One of my closest friends – made sometime this year – called to update me on the progress he had made on a hurdle he was tackling. He has been hitting a brick wall in a vital personal project and this weekend the sun broke through his clouds. We took forty minutes to talk and laugh and sigh and celebrate.

Then I got an email from a close family member who recently suffered two strokes in quick succession – just two weeks apart – which rendered her right leg and hand less-sufficient-than usual. She is making huge progress and has been able to compose an email to family and friends, just today, letting us know that she is okay.

Now here I am drawing up a list of things I would like to spend money on in December. First of all, hangers for the clothes I never wear because they are heaped on top of each other at the bottom of three bags. Second, a road trip; the said friend (above) and I have been planning this for a while. The rest will follow and has to include a facelift for my place – should I decide against moving in the new year.

Cheers to the rain, to friendship, to positive energy and to Sam Smith!!!

One thought on “I had the Monday Blues today…

Leave a Reply

